Aamna I. Rizvi
1 min readSep 22, 2020

--

There is a false saying: “How can someone who can’t save himself save others?” Supposing I have the key to your chains, why should your lock and my lock be the same? – Friedrich Nietzsche.

So long as there’s genuineness & intentionality – and people are smart and they know when they’ve caught a whiff of that shit – I think any answer could apply to any question. This piece is so important cause it tells others to get off their thrones.

But one day, one might feel completely sane just because the sun shines into their window at a peculiar angle or they summoned the energy to get out of bed and dress up like the others – and the self help listicles and garbage generic repurposed advice will serve like little make believe furniture in their little make believe mental space for that day or for that week. We must keep living for those days and writing for those too.

We might only get such days few and far between. But isn’t the contrast what we live for? Our aspirations heal our illness. Our belief in someone else’s health may heal us.

--

--

Aamna I. Rizvi

Student physician. Storyteller. Artist. Unraveling the inner workings of personal development,relationships & wellness. Join me in my pursuit for answers!